TOP > Overview of Tokyo Metropolitan Hospitals

Overview of Tokyo Metropolitan Hospitals

History of Tokyo Metropolitan Hospitals

The history of Tokyo metropolitan hospitals dates back to 1879, when facilities for mental illness and cholera and other infectious diseases were established.

Metropolitan hospitals have been serving the residents of Tokyo, providing healthcare that meets current social needs and the changing supply and demand for medical care.

Role of Tokyo Metropolitan Hospitals

The basic role of metropolitan hospitals is to provide Tokyo residents with proper “public healthcare services” supported by an advanced and specialized, multidisciplinary care system and to ensure quality medical services in the capital through close collaboration with other hospitals and facilities. Metropolitan hospitals are meant to serve all the residents of Tokyo. In order to fully utilize limited medical resources to provide as many people as possible with proper healthcare by leveraging the sophisticated capabilities of the metropolitan hospitals, these hospitals serve the entire Tokyo area (tertiary healthcare service area) or secondary healthcare service areas, and primarily provide acute care.

Multidisciplinary Care System

Treating a cancer patient who also has diabetes, for example, requires multidisciplinary care involving doctors specializing in not only oncology but also different areas such as diabetes, ophthalmology and orthopedics. This collaborative approach to treat various symptoms and complications is called a “multidisciplinary care system.”


Healthcare Service Areas

Healthcare service areas have been established as regional units to properly meet resident demand for healthcare; to appropriately allocate healthcare resources; and to promote a more systematic provision of healthcare services by encouraging the division of roles and collaboration between healthcare facilities.

  • In the primary healthcare service area, community-oriented healthcare services, such as support for well-being and treatment for common injuries and diseases, are provided. Each municipality constitutes one primary healthcare service area.
  • In the secondary healthcare service area, total general inpatient care, as well as comprehensive healthcare services through cooperation among medical facilities, are provided. Tokyo is divided into 13 secondary healthcare service areas.
  • In the tertiary healthcare service area, advanced inpatient care and specialized healthcare services are provided. The entire Tokyo area is a single tertiary healthcare service area.

Public HealthcareServices Provided by Tokyo Metropolitan Hospitals

Metropolitan hospitals provide the following public healthcare services:

  1. Medical attention required under laws and regulations (e.g. emergency psychiatric care, disaster healthcare)
  2. Medical attention arising from strong social demand (e.g. medical care for intractable diseases, perinatal care, secondary and tertiary emergency care)
  3. Medical attention for newly arising medical challenges that metropolitan hospitals need to take the lead in addressing (e.g. mental illness in children, AIDS treatment)

Other Useful Information

More information about metropolitan hospitals is available on the following websites: